A little bit late but let me end this year with these two books from my favorite authors that you can still read before2017!

Confess by Colleen Hoover (599 PHP)

confess-by-coho-ws

When Colleen Hoover went in the Philippines last year for her first book signing, I was itching to buy Confess so she could sign it. Unfortunately, my money was too short for another novel of hers. Yet, when I finally saw this book, I immediately purchased one.

First love never dies. It was a bittersweet lesson for Auburn Mason Reed who at 15 fell in love with a dying guy. She never knew that she finds someone who brings butterflies in her stomach. This time, though there is a much bigger risk other than her heart.

There are too many complications in Owen Mason Gentry’s life, he doesn’t need another one. But, when fate brought at his doorstep the woman who let him discovered his calling, he couldn’t resist believing with chances.

What I like about the story:

The Paintings and Confessions… I’m quite a fan of paintings because I’m intrigued on how artists/painters come out with their beautiful and extraordinary finished products. That’s why when this book is all about paintings, I was very thrilled to check it out and sure enough there are photos of paintings! What I didn’t expect was the paintings were created from confessions of different people! It was surprising and brilliant!

OMG as in Owen Mason Gentry! Whenever I read COHO’s novel, I always fell in love with the male protagonist. I think it is her main goal and I’m not complaining though. Daniel from Finding Cinderella has always been my favorite leading man, but Owen you are tied with him now. I love the mysteriousness of Owen from the very start of the story till the end. He makes you curious and at the same time amaze on how talented and loving he is. Auburn is such a fortunate lady.

Quotes:

Owen to Auburn

“I think love is a hard word to define. You can love a lot of things about a person but still not love the whole person.

“I want to paint you. You don’t even have to be there when I paint you. I’ll paint you from memory.”

Owen to AJ

“It’s not the muscles that make men strong. Secrets do. The more secrets you keep, the stronger you are on the inside.”

Auburn to Owen

“Sometimes we don’t get second chances, Own. Sometimes things just ends.” –Crap!

Selflessness. It should be the basis of every relationship. If a person truly cares about you, they’ll get more pleasure from the way they make you feel rather than the way you make them feel. –Agree!

Verdict:

There were unexpected twists which were good. I like how the love story of Owen and Auburn blossoms and develops. As badly as I want for Confess 2, I know that it will not happen.

 

Wildfire by Christine Feehan (315 PHP)

wild-fire-by-cf-ws

I read Burning Wild earlier this year and I just found out that it was part of Leopard Novel series by Christine Feehan. Boo to me! I like animal shifter stories so I wasn’t able to withstand buying Wildfire when I saw it.

Conner Vega’s next mission reminds him of his betrayal to his mate. He couldn’t abandon his group; especially he is the one familiar in the Panama rainforest. When he least expected, destiny’s revenge found its way to him.

Heartbroken and totally devastated, Isabeau Chandler picked up herself and faced the only person she wanted to forget. She prepared herself of meeting him and made him pay for all the pain he caused to her.

What I like about the story:

Conner’s scar and painful past… I’m sad for Conner because he grew up in the jungle with his mother. His father didn’t want him. He learned everything from his Mom. He became a tough and scary guy.

Isabeau’s feline instinct and strong heart… Isabeau didn’t know that she was a leopard not until she put scars on Conner’s face. Her father died in front of her and the one that she dearly loves left her. I saluted this woman greatly when she was harrassed by a maniac, and yet she held her head high.

Quotes:

Conner to Isabeau

“Sex is just sex, Isabeau. Love is different. Love is both mind and body, heart and soul. I don’t know how else to say it. When I’m with you, it isn’t just about my body being satisfied. I’ve had love- your brand of love- and I don’t ever want anything else.” –Aww…

Verdict:

I was shocked with some scenes in the story. My mind was blown away and my heart was twisted. The plot was not the usual Christine Feehan book that I usually read which was good. I will definitely look for the other books in the series.

The December Perk’s Book Recommendation will be up by the first week of January. I just purchased the book today. Happy reading everyone!

