Blog site that features anything under the sun!

Daily Archives: February 21, 2016

It was the book cover that immediately captured my interest.

No Love Allowed book cover

Photo from Goodreads.com

I fell in love with the lovely cover! I was fortunate enough to read the Advance Reader’s Copy from Pinoy Book Tours and it perfectly came this month of love!

Expected publication: April 19th 2016 by Swoon Reads

 

Synopsis:

It’s all fun and parties until someone falls in love in this modern fairy tale from author Kate Evangelista.

Caleb Parker desperately needs a fake girlfriend. Either he attends a series of parties for his father’s law firm with a pretty girl on his arm, or he gets shipped off to Yale to start a future he’s not ready for and isn’t sure he wants. And sadly, the last unattached girl in his social circle has just made the grievous mistake of falling in love with him.

Fortunately, DianaDidi’ Alexander, recently fired waitress and aspiring painter, is open to new experiences. As the summer ticks by in a whirl of lavish parties, there’s only one rule: They must not fall in love!

What I like about the story:

The Fake Relationship. I’ve been reading a lot of stories about pretending to be in a relationship for the sake of moving on but this one as soon as I started reading, it didn’t make me feel feigned about it. Caleb’s concern to Didi was priceless and Didi’s personality was contagious.

The Parker boys. It was like I was being tortured while I read about Caleb, Nathan and Preston. Can they be real? Their descriptions were so effective that I wanted to be Didi or Natasha at the same time!

All the ‘FIRSTS’ for Didi and Caleb. This couple made me believe of happy ever after and forever though there were a lot of complications from both sides. The surprise jump from the cliff, the exciting event from Fourth of July, their memorable kiss and who won’t forget their dinner at the museum with their very special meal?

Quotes to remember:

*Page 37

Nathan to Caleb

“Love is love. If she feels that way, then let her. It doesn’t mean you have to return it.”

*Page 143

Caleb to Didi

“That was when I realized all love does is hurt people. It lulls you into false sense of security, and then bam! You slam into a brick wall of pain. A shit ton of pain. Love destroys people to the point where they don’t even care who else they hurt in process.”

 

*Page 201

Caleb to Angela

“I can’t see the future, Angela but I do know one thing. Whether I stay in your daughter’s life or not should be up to her. Just let me see her.”
*Page 209

Angela to Didi

“But no matter how wrong I thought your relationship was I can’t ignore the fact that you were happy. That he made you happy. I think I made a mistake in asking him to disappear from your life. And I think you’ll regret it someday if you allow him to leave. I don’t want to deny you the chance to be with him if that is what you truly want.”

*Page 225

Caleb to Didi

“I should have known that from the moment I met you that there would be no going back. That I will never be the same. I know now that I’ll never recover from loving you, Diana Alexander.”

*Page 228

“You’re the first girl I’ve ever fallen in love with.”

“You’re the first boy I’ve ever allowed myself to love.”

 

How it ends:

Dinner. McDo. Paintings. Van Gogh. Museum.

 

Verdict:

This is the first novel that I read from Kate Evangelista and I enjoyed it very much! It was light and fun to read. It was very realistic that it can happen to anyone. Kate’s writing style was flawless and the words which she used was not very complicated. The vibe of reading this novel made my heart burst in happiness from the beginning up to the end.

I highly recommend that you purchase this book once it hit the leading bookstores!

I can’t wait for April and have my own physical copy of this novel! Hopefully Miss Kate will have a meet and greet and she signed this book for me.

Perk’s rating: 5/5 (I’m a huge fan of Caleb and Didi!)

Again, thank you very much to Pinoy Book Tours for the ARC and the blog tour!  And to Kate Evangelista for this wonderful story!