My second stop for the #JustWritePH—For Love:

JustWritePH-ForLove-Cover

Authors: Beth G., Carla de Guzman, Giselle Bacalla, and AmaeDechavez

Description:

Love is never easy, but the journey to that happily ever after is what makes it worth it. Witness the struggles of these characters as they work their way through both new romances and second chances at love in this four-story bundle.

FeaturesI Still…” by Beth G., “Sigh No More” by Carla de Guzman, “Velvet Valentine” by Giselle Bacalla, and “One Sweet November Day” by Amae Dechavez.

I Still… by Beth G.

Jamee is head over heels with Denmark. And after several years of not seeing each other, they meet again, and Jamee cannot deny the fact that after all those years, she is still in love with him. As their renewed friendship seems to progress, all while their common college friends hold a reunion for all of them, Jamee discovers the truth behind her heartache with Denmark years ago. Will she still surrender on how she feels for Denmark and give herself a chance on love? Or will it be too late?

Connect with and follow this author via these channels:
WordPress: http://bethgstories.wordpress.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/bethgonline

What I like about the story:

Blind dates of Jamee. The idea of blind dating piques my interest though in reality I haven’t experience it. I enjoy Jamee’s failed blind dates.

Name concepts. Kudos to the author! Jamaica and Denmark is such a cute name for leading characters!

Stalker mode. This twist came as a surprised for me. Never expected it!

~Story lines that worth to remember~

Alex to Jamaica:

  • “Jamee, listen to this. It’s okay to be scared and confused. And you can
    allow them to haunt you for the rest of your life, regrets included, or you can allow this guy in question to chase them away. Your call.”

Jamee’s POV :

  • It taught me that I should have taken my chances when I could. It showed me that
    love deserved second chances. And it made me believe that great love could bring
    impossible things within my reach.

How it ends:

No more blind dates. Yes to second chances. Perfect way to end the story!

Perk’s rating: 4/5

EXCERPTS

Sigh No More by Carla de Guzman

Right. Morning outfit selfie. Here we go.

I really looked awful in the morning, all messy hair and puffy eyes. That last beer really was a mistake. I adjusted the angle of my phone slightly, before I gave the camera my brightest, still-slightly-sleepy smile. I hadn’t really thought about what I was going to wear today (horror of horrors) and I ended up with my loose, ripped drawstring jeans, my favorite chunky sandals and a loose white shirt. It was going to be another hot day in DC, so a pair of plastic cat eye glasses went with the outfit. I put my hair up in its usual half-topknot and grabbed Claudia’s peach lip tint to swipe over my lips. I looked into my vintage full length mirror and snapped the photo.

“Beatrice Noble: Up and ready by 10 am and I’m already working,” I typed out on the phone’s notes. “Had a back and forth conversation with our printer regarding our new greeting card line while in bed, now heading off to meet with Claudia at Petit Jolie.”

That sounded good, didn’t it? I frowned little at myself in the mirror. I widened my eyes until I looked crazy and puffed out my cheeks. Gaze into the eyes of an underpaid, overworked, under-slept self-starter!

Claudia Crowne and I quit our jobs two years ago to start our baby, the Noble Crowne Paper Company. We started out with small jobs, making invites for relatives’ weddings, postcards and notepads. Then the next thing I knew, my life turned into a whirlwind of printers and paints, clients and meetings. Suddenly my social media posts were more important than times in and out, my 9 to 5 had turned into 24/7, and the voice in my head telling my that there was something inherently wrong with doing what I loved had finally dulled into a whisper.

Was it scary? It was still, in a lot of ways. Sometimes I think that it’s all been a fluke, or a dream of some kind, but then I check my ratty old filofax and the list of things I have to do just make me feel happy. It’s so weird.

One of the lifestyle blogs Claudia and I religiously followed finally responded to Claudia’s emails and asked for a ‘day in the life’ article from the girls of Noble Crowne. It was a big deal for us, and both Claudia and I were determined not to screw it up.

Which was why, when I arrived at Petit Jolie, I wasn’t at all surprised to see that Claudia was wearing a short, sleeveless tunic printed with orange roses, mums and little red flowers that I used to pick from bushes as a child. Claudia made that dress from a pattern I gave her when I was first starting to paint. Now almost every piece that we produced in our little stationery company featured my hand painted flowers.

“You couldn’t be just a bit more subtle?” I teased, kissing my best friend’s cheek as we sat on our usual table of the corner cafe. Claudia and I lived within walking distance of each other on Kings’ Street in Old Town, Alexandria, a little neighbourhood in Virginia that still had wrought iron street lamps, twinkle lights on the main street, small Victorian buildings, shops and boutiques just by the Potomac River. I loved our neighbourhood. It was so pretty and quaint, despite being a stone’s throw away from Washington DC. Petit Jolie was a small boulangerie in the middle of an American street and smack dab in the middle of the town. It was also where the idea for Noble Crowne was born.

Excerpt from Velvet Valentine by Giselle Bacalla

Do you still remember your childhood?

While you were a kid filled with curiosity about the world.

If you do, then everything new always made you feel like your heart was going to leap out of your chest.

Most of us thought that it was only temporary.

The excitement dies down as we grow tired of the feeling.

While our Parents would tell us that we should always calm down and wait, we would still find ourselves expecting for surprises.

It was also the same feeling for me, I guess.

When you started your first day of pre-school, where our parents held our hands tight as the moment sinks into them that their child is finally growing up.

It is in this moment we experience change.

Often times, children in these stages would drive themselves crazy of excitement while others feared the uncertain detachment of the normality that they grew accustomed at home.

Where meeting new people seemed like such a scary thing.

In these moments we find ourselves looking for support from our family, as they root for our success.

In these moments we are told that there is nothing to be afraid in going to school and that they are there for us when we fail. Even then we still feel that sense of uncertainty and because being young was all we were.

Our imaginations ran wildly and imagine the worst case scenarios and it is in these exact moments in our lives that define us without even knowing that it could be the very definition on how we can handle ourselves as we grow.

Unfortunately, not many of us had the same experience to hold dear in our hearts.

In this story told in a million ways possible through a series of different versions of your inner self. Travel back with me in time, as we remember our younger years together as youthful kids growing up into our ideal selves.

Excerpt from One Sweet November Day by Amae Dechavez

Hindi mapakalisi Ethan saklaseniya. Sino banamananghindimapapa-sabi ng ‘mahalkita’ sataonggustong-gusto monaulingmakita? Dapatnga noon ko pa nasabi ‘yon sakaniyano’ngbakasyonsa Pila.

Pinanoodniyasaglitangkanilangpropesornatutoksapagsusulatsapisara ng course syllabus nila.

‘So, angibigsabihinnito, may girlfriend na ‘ko…’ muni-muni ni Ethan. “YES!” Napalakasangsabiniya ng ‘yes’ at nagtinginananglahatsakaniyasaklase.

Tinignansiya ng masama ng propesyor at butinalang at unangaraw pa lamang ng klasekaya’tini-dismiss pa rinsila, patisiya—nangmaaga.

“Warning ha, Mr. Crisologo,” sita ng propesorniya.

Habangnasakoridorpapuntasakasunodniyangklase ay ini-text ni Ethan siMaylie, tinatanong kung anongorasangbakantenito.

“Lunch break ko ng 11 am. Pero 30 minutes langang break ko,” text back sakaniyaniMaylie.

“Eh hangganganongorasangtrabahomosa library?” text mulini Ethan.

“Hanggang 2.30.”

“11.30 pa ang vacant koperowalanarinakongklase ng 2.30 pm to 4. Susunduinkitamamayad’yansa library. :-D” text ni Ethan.

Excited nalumakadsi Ethan patungosasilid ng susunodniyangklase.

Hindi nagkakalayoanggusali ng Humanities College of Arts and Sciences at ang Main Library kaya nangi-dismiss nangmaagaangklaseni Ethan sa Hum. ayagadsiyangtumungosa library.

Gaya ng inaasahan ay halos wala pang mgaestudyantesa library saunangaraw ng school year. Ngunitgatambak at gabundokangmgalibro at babasahingkailanganisaayos ng mgaempleyada at student assistants sa library.

NapatinginsiMayliesa may pasukan ng library dahilnapansinniyang may isanglalakinghumintonangnakatayoroon, pinagmamasdansiyanangmaigi.

“Ethan!”

“Shhh…” puna kay Maylie ng kasamahangestudyantengempleyada.

TumayosiMayliesakinauupuan at iniwanmunasaglitangpagsasaayos ng mgaaklat base salaki at paksa. Bago pa silamakita ng assistant head librarian ayhinilananiyasi Ethan sapagitan ng mgaistantesalikuran ng silid-aklatan.

“Anongginagawamodito?”

“Maagakamingdinismis.”

“Eh bakitkapumuntadito?”

“Eh namimissnakita eh,” ngitini Ethan.

PinigilniMaylieangpusoniya. ‘Sana hindiakonamumula…’

“Ethan, may trabaho pa ‘ko. 11 pa ang break time ko.”

“Hindi namanakomagtatagal, gusto langkitangmakita.”

Habangpatagalnangpatagal, pahirapnangpahirapataangpagpipigilniMaylie ng kilig at ngitiniyasakakaibangepektoni Ethan sakaniya. “Mamayanatayomagkita. 2.30, di ba?”

“O sige, susunduinkita.” Umakmanghahaliksapisngisi Ethan ngunitpinigilsiya ng hintuturoniMaylie. Nginisianito ng pilyongsi Ethan at sakanaumalisangbinata.


JustWritePH-blog-tour-banner

For now you can join a on-going give-away!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/3079e91815/

Buy the stories now!

Check it out here: http://www.buqo.ph/Shop/Book/e4cdd5da-468e-4d43-b474-71c64f9a883a

This bundle is available at 75% off for this week only (September 21 to 27). Regular price is at $3.99/P180. Sale price is $0.99/P45. Once this leg of the tour ends, so does the sale, and the bundle featured in the next leg will then go on sale. What are you waiting for? Purchase For Love bundle now!

Visit this page as well: http://bit.ly/JustWritePHTour

