Ending this lovely month of August by two awesome book recommendations! The final book of one of the most loved Young Adult novel last year is the first recommendation while the other one is best read on Halloween.
P.S. I Still Love You (July)

PS-ISLY

Photo from laurenconrad.com

This book came out last May and everyone went gaga to find out what will happen to Lara Jean and Peter Kavinsky.

If you read To All the Boys I Loved Before which was beautifully written by Jenny Han who had a book signing last year that attended by yours truly, this novel is the sequel of it.

P.S. I Still Love You is about Lara Jean Song who is head over heels in love with his fake boyfriend, Peter Kavinsky but someone whom she loved from the past returns to her life.

What I like about the story:

Choosing between the past love and on-going relationship. All I can think is a perfect couple already: Lara and Peter. I’m #TeamKavinsky all the way! Yet I cannot blame Lara Jean when she is torn between her feelings for Peter and John Ambrose.

last love

Photo from fineartamerica.com

Solving issues should not be made by one party only and trust is always a main concern. Peter is Lara’s first boyfriend though I expected her to adjust and adapt, I like how she still have doubts yet she tried to survive and surpass every challenges that came to them.

50-let-go-birthday

Photo from hellogiggles.com

Letting go means giving a chance to growing up. Lara Jean keeps on comparing herself to Genevieve and their past relationship. It doesn’t help. Acceptance of the strengths and flaws is the key for a great start of a real relationship.
~Quotes to remember~

Margot to Lara Jean

“Don’t get too serious to where things can go back. Be in love with Peter if you want, but be careful with your heart. Things feel like they’ll be forever, but they aren’t. Love can go away, or people can, without even meaning to. Nothing is guaranteed.

Peter to Lara Jean

“What if we do? If we’re so guarded, it’s not going to be anything. Let’s do it fucking for real, Lara Jean. Let’s go all in. No more contract. No more safety net. You can break my heart. Do whatever you want it.” (So sweet!)

Lara Jean’s advice about falling in love to Kitty

Allow yourself to get a little lost. By this I mean, get caught up in it, do things you wouldn’t normally do-let it be an adventure.”
Verdict:
When I was in the last page, so this is it? I mean can I ask for more Kavinsky! I crave for perfect ending of the story. I think it gave justice with the first novel which is good anyway. Great job Jenny Han!
Diary of A Haunting (August)
It was like, love at first picked!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
When I won this book from an event, I was excited. I don’t usually read creepy or scary stories because it will be difficult for me to sleep. However, the cover of the book was like calling me to get it.
The one that I have is an Advance Reviewer Copy because the book is set to be released this month.
Diary of a Haunting is written through journal entries of Paige who moves with her mother and brother in small town in Idaho. Their new house send bad vibes and negative feelings to Paige.

What I like about the story:

The fear that it leaves every turn of the pages is marvelous. Flies around the house, I can let go but spiders, no way! And the buzzing sound in the head is not normal. I understand Paige in this matter.

Characters involved gave the biggest impact: Logan who is being epileptic and insomniac, the mysterious Raph who rents a small room below the house, Chloe who is a little bit weird and her mother who loves nature and all creations of God.

How it ends:

I didn’t expect the revelations and the truth on the last few chapters. The turn out of events was also superb.

Verdict:
For a beginner reader of horror/suspense novel, this is a good one. Quite confused with some scenes and I was a disturbed when one of the characters is the same person who writes it. Nice debut novel of M. Verano!

