Starting this month, I’m going to feature the book/s that I’m reading which you can also try to read.

Before the year (2014) ended, I bought three books as a Christmas present to myself but I had difficulty in getting my own copies. I first purchased Paano Ba’To?at NBS Trinoma and it was the last copy. I was desperate with the other books that I called several bookshops in order to find it. When NBS Edsa Shangrila Mall informed me that they have one last copy of Dear Alex, Break na Kami Paano?! Love Catherine, I immediately requested for reservation. I also bought the very elusive Si in Edsa Shangrila Mall that luckily have enough copies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
These three books became my instant companion during my Christmas vacation and let me share it to you why they are worth to read.
1. Dear Alex, Break na Kami Paano?! Love Catherine by Alex Gonzaga (175php)

The first and best-selling book of the Filipina host/actress and it will turn into a movie this year.
I was reading it while I was waiting for my flight going to Zamboanga. It was my first plane ride via PAL and I was laughing hard even though I was just reading page one. (Nakakarelate much ako!)

excess-baggage-300x1801

Photo from billleckie.com

*Excess Baggage 1
Yes this is me. Same feeling with Alex that I thought my first boyfriend was the ‘one’/ ‘package deal’ and first and last boyfriend.
*Excess Baggage 2
Rebound somehow happened to me but before I made another mistake in entering to another relationship again, I woke up from my ‘kabaliwan.’
*Excess Baggage 3
-Someone you see as your marriage type. Haven’t tried this but I guess I am not really ready that is why. 🙂
Pages designated for you!
26-27: Question and answer
28-29: The Break-up Breakdown
30: Reasons for Breaking Up
31: Deal Breaker
Do’s and Don’ts (Break up Manual)Did some of it and yes I’m grateful that it helped me to move on.
85: The Craziest Things I Did for Love
113: Louis Vuitton Theory
What Do You Like In a Man? Standards vs Ideals

~Quotes and Words to Live By! ~

alex book 1

Photo from my.englishclub.com

a. You don’t fall in love because you’re lucky. You fall in love because you’re ready.
b. “We met for a reason, and its either you’re a blessing or a lesson.”
c. “Don’t trade the ultimate for the immediate. Don’t settle for less, wait for God’s best.”
d. Insecurities will eat you up. So I suggest you eat your insecurities and poopoo them. #AlexAdvice

e. “Being joyful is about staying positive when everything else seems to fail.” #AlexAdvice

Verdict:
A fun and light book that you can learn and relate a lot.

2. Paano Ba ‘To? by Bianca Gonzales (245php)
The first book from the host/columnist/editor is perfect for everyone.
I started reading it during our land trip from Zamboanga to Davao. I was sitting inside our room in Hotel Valencia, Bukidnon as I turn the first page. (Time check: 8:40 am)
Sections/Portions that are an eye-opener and very inspiring!

^Questions and Answers
>Inspiring Real Stories
10 Kinds of Friends I Needed In My Life < (Very helpful indeed! )
^Basic Guide to Make Up and Hair ^
#Family#
Page 6 (Question 15) – This is how I felt when my siblings brought medals and honors when I was in high school that’s why I strive hard when I was in college.
+ From Toni Gonzaga
“I’m not saying I’m the best role model, I’d rather be an inspiration for the things I was able to overcome.”

#Friends#
Page 24 (How to Deal with Frenemies) – I enjoyed reading it very much!
Page 30-33 (10 Kinds of Friends I Needed In My Life) – Very helpful!
+ Anne Curtis and Luis Manzano take on their Friendship
Anne: When I get married, if I can have a Man of Honor, siyanayun.
Luis: I was also asking her to be my… Best Maid?! Hahaha!

#Love#
Nice quote! “Every failed relationship is equal to you being prepared for the person who is meant for you.”
+ Ask Ramon pages are a very funny, informative and you will learn a lot!
“Hantay hantay ka lang, pag nagging presidenteako baling-araw maisasabatas ko ang Anti-Emotional Estafa Bill.”

#Career and Money#
Quotes to be successful!
Nature + Nurture = Number One!
“The point isn’t to create a vision; the key is to capture the vision just for you!”

Expenses are unlimited while income is very limited. Saving should be the first and not the last priority.
Great acronym!
Contribute
Excel
Naturally
Turn On
Spirit
If it makes C.E.N.T.S to you , it makes senses to do!

+ Being Tim Yap
“There’s no such thing as a dead end situation.”

#Failures#
So true! “In every setback, there is a chance of comeback. In every adversity, there is an opportunity.”
+ Marian Rivera’s life learning lessons are very optimistic and inspiring!
#Fashion#
“It’s not ‘just clothes and make-up,’ it is your message to the world about who you are.”
+ Rissa Mananquil-Trillo
“A fashion ensemble should be comfortable enough for the wearer to forget about it but fabulous enough to be remembered by those who see it.”

bianca 3

Photo from magazine3.com

#Purpose#
“Pursue your dream by using strengths as your main tools, but be ready to have a plan for when your weakness are tested.” I agree!
Purpose is like a star that guides you in life, not a destination.
+ Atom Araullo
“We have to make the most of every opportunity, but the crucial ingredient is having clear idea of who you are and what you stand for so you don’t get lost in the confusion.”

#Self#
Coach Tim Cone believes that it is better to be “growth-oriented” than “goal oriented”.
Page 136 (How to Build Self-Confidence)– Pak na pak!
Pages 142-145 (10 Things About My Journey of Finding Myself) – Very encouraging and heart-warming!
Verdict:
Perfect for all ages! The artworks and drawings make the book refreshing!

3. Si by Bob Ong (400php)

I was in high school when I encountered his first book and since then I became a big fan of this elusive and mysterious writer. Si is his latest and 10th book that you should not miss!

bob ong 1
Pages that let you fall in love, over and over again:
>36-39 Very sweet! Start of the Flashback of their love story!
>110-112 Saddest chapter for me. It was about Lourdes, the last child of Victoria.
>123 Mario Lim and Carmen’s ‘banatan’ is wow!
>127 Best description of a Father’s love to his first son.
>152 Anita’s lines was very ‘malupit’!

bob ong 2

Photo from iloveuselessknowledge.com

Lines that captures your heart and soul:
“Isinilang ako dahil isinilang siya. Si Victoria ang buhay ko at ang diwa ko ay si Victoria.”
Lorenzo: “Kung ibibigay mo sa akin ang puso mo, paano ka?”
Amelia: “Hahatiin ko ito para sa ating dalawa. Ang kalahati ay para magmahal ka. Ang natitira ay para mahalin kita.”
“Minahal ko ang dating siya. Minamahal ko kung ano siya ngayon. Mamahalin ko maging ano man siya bukas. At handa akong ialay sa kanya ang lahat ng ube at leche flan sa mga kakainin ko pang haluhalo sa hinaharap.”

Verdict:
The first hard bound book and romantic novel of Bob Ong which I enjoyed reading a lot. The storyteller is unnamed but he told the story about his life and his family in a very different way: it started when he is old and ended when he was still unborn. Highly recommended!

