It’s been six months since I went to the beautiful and historical city of New Orleans at Louisiana. It had been a tremendous experience touring the place and watched the NBA All Stars 2014. Tripped down to memory lane, let me take you to a food trip that you would surely enjoy!
Here are the top 5 restaurants that you should not miss visiting in New Orleans!
1. ACME

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I believe this is the most popular restaurant that serves fresh and delicious oysters right in front of you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

May I take your order?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Menu

It was our first night in New Orleans when we chose the restaurant as the impeccable place to had dinner. It was jampacked and we even fall in line before we got inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Soup for the day $7.49

I forgot what I ordered but platters and Po’-Boys were served on our table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fried Seafood Platter $20.49

If you are wondering what is a Po’ Boy, it stands for Poor boy which is a traditional submarine sandwich that originally made from Louisiana. It is consists of the baguette-like New Orleans French bread and meat (roast beef or fried seafood).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And yes this was my Po Boy!

Even though I didn’t eat their fresh oyster, I still like the fried oyster for the first time! Truly ACME dishes deserve their long line of patrons!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let’s drink to that!

2. Daisy Dukes

It was past midnight when we were looking for a restaurant to dine in. We went to the other side of Bourbon St. where there were not so much people and noise. We found Daisy Dukes which was a nice cozy diner to hang-out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gracious way welcome to your guests!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Menu!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I missed the rice so much that I ordered the only available rice dish that they have!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cup of Gumbo $5.25

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gulp!

I found out that meal with rice was unusual in New Orleans. If you want one, it is always with soup which is called Gumbo. No plain rice.

The boys ordered the usual Po’Boy platter which they enjoyed a lot!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Popcorn Shrimp Basket $13.95

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chicken Finger Basket $9.95

3. Felix’s Restaurant and Oyster Bar
This restaurant is located at the back of our hotel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wasn’t able to take pictures of their food because first it wasn’t presentable, second the restaurant was quite messy and lastly the service was slow. My only consolation during our meal was the waiter who served us looks like Erwan Heusaff!
4. Pierre Maspero’s
There are lots of restaurants and bars in New Orleans; I must say that Pierre Maspero’s stood out for me. If you are looking for a fine dining this place is perfect! It is located near the St. Louis Cathedral.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The brick wall interior makes me fall in love! It was like I was transported in Italy as I sat down on the chair.

The attentive servers gave us their menus as soon as we sat comfortably. The polite waitress suggested their best sellers while we scanned the menu.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cocktail drinks anyone?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Which spread do you like for your bread?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thirsty? 🙂

Because I just wanted to relax and enjoy the ambiance, I immediately ordered my breakfast. The foods that we chose were terrific!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The delightfully Natchitoches Meat Pies! $8

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two Egg Breakfast $7

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Belgian Waffle $8 (Taste like the Beignet!)

When I have a chance to go back to New Orleans, I definitely visit this lovely restaurant again!
5. IHOP
I never have been to any IHOP here in the Philippines. I know that the first branch was located at BCG Taguig and they already have nearer store in our place which is in Cubao. I was happy that we ate at IHOP in New Orleans!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Come in and let’s dine!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Menu

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The serving of the dishes was humungous and each meal tasted great except the Vegetable Salad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5S Pot Roast!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pot Roast Melt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super Cool Raspberry Ice Tea $2.59

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The quite disappointing House Salad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t like the dressing but I still ate it on the hotel room.

One of these days I’m really going to visit IHOP and I will share my experience as well.

