Every year it has been a habit that I watch one or two entries of Metro Manila Film Fest. It is one way to support our local films and it is also a good way to have a bonding time with your family, friends and love ones.

I am very proud of myself this year because for the first time, I was able to watch seven out of the eight entries of MMFF!

Image

From philnews.ph

Thank you to SisterSecrets.Ph because they chose me as one of their winners for complimentary passes to see all the MMFF movies!

Image

I could not help but smile while giving the ticket in the cinema house counter because I only paid 6 php per film instead of 180-200 php.

Image

Image

Me and my dear friend!

Without further a do, here are the MMFF entries that I was able to watch on the big screen.

1. Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy

From the start until the end, I was laughing with the punch lines of Vice Ganda who portrayed four characters: the sexy bombshell ‘Girlie’, the sick racer ‘Peter’, the martyr gay ‘Mark’ and the talented lesbian/tomboy ‘Panying’. The movie’s story is typical and at some point the phasing of the scenes was slow yet I was really entertained with the movie because of Girlie’s bitchiness and Panying’s cool demeanor. Winning line: FIL-AM: (Feelingera at Ambisyosa).

2. Kimmy Dora: Ang Kiyemeng Prequel

I fell in love with Dora’s childishness and I was amazed with Kimmy’s wittiness. Kimmy Dora is one of the popular movie franchises that really captured my attention. The first film which was Kimmy Dora: Kambal sa Kiyeme was excellent. It made me looked forward to the sequel, Kimmy Dora and the Temple of Kiyeme. Unfortunately, the second film quite disappointed me. I was very happy when I heard that there would be a last installment! It was a good way to end the series. The Prequel has a quite a nice story which was fun to watch. Hands down with Eugene Domingo who portrayed the two characters effortlessly that made me laughs easily.

3. Kaleidoscope World

I believed that the film makers got the concept of the movie from the popular song of the great late rapper Francis Magalona which I am familiar with. The film centers on Lando (a student/ part-time call center agent) who was a rich boy but became poor and who fell in love with Elsa (a rich girl) who has a quite complicated life and relatives. Passion for dancing unites the two characters. Honestly, I was bored with the film yet I appreciated the flip top (rapping), sound tracks and the hip hop dancing. The editing also of some scenes was quite not right. I hate to say this but I just wished they did not enter the movie as one of MMFF entries.

4. Pedro Calungsod: Ang Batang Martir

I’m into historical films and I’m so glad that one of MMFF movie is about a religious figure that made a difference in our society. A salute to Rocco Nacino who played Pedro Calungsod because I was convinced of his acting and most especially his Visayan accent was awesome! I loved Christian Vasquez’s portrayal as Jesuit Father Diego Luis de San Vitores, he was great that I actually thought that he was a real priest. Two thumbs up to all the actors who learned Spanish and Visayan for this wonderful film.

5. Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay

Image

From philnews.ph

Filipinos are believers and followers of superstitions and Pagpag reflects how we should act in a wake. I got to know new superstitious beliefs with this only suspense horror film entry. I was not looking at some parts of the movie where the ‘killings’ took place because I was afraid that I might not sleep at night.  A scaredy cat like me considers Pagpag as a good film. It not only gave me chills, it also made me laugh. The punch lines of Janus Del Prado (Dencio) were incredible and very timely.

6. My Little Bossings

It is a film that is very family-oriented where kids truly enjoyed watching. Though the story was shallow, there are scenes that I almost cried because I remembered my father when I was also young. Aiza Seguerra (Ice) deserved the Best Supporting Actress award for her heartwarming portrayal of a lesbian single mother who was left by his father in an orphanage. There was only one thing that I don’t like with this movie, lots of commercial endorsements.

7. 10,000 hours

Image

From fposts.com

I actually didn’t want to see this film because it is an action flick and I’m not a big fan of it. Yet, I was relieved that I was able to convince myself to watched 10,000 hours. It was a superb film for its storyline, location and cinematography. It is somehow related with what is happening to our government today and I do hope that politicians were able to catch this ‘eye opener’ movie.

My favorite three MMFF 2013 movies are:
– Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
-Pedro Calungsod: Ang Batang Martir
-10,000 hours

Sadly, I was not able to watch ‘Boy Golden’ because my free ticket was only until January 7. If you have not seen any of the MMFF entries, don’t worry because some malls are still showing them. Go to your nearest cinema house and do not miss your chance of supporting our very own films!

