I’ve seen the trailer a few months ago and I promised that I’ll catch it once it hit the movie houses. Lucky stars headed on my way again. I won premiere tickets to watch RIPD. Hooray! I’m a blessed and happy cinema goer because it was actually my second free premiere movie tickets this month! 🙂

Unfortunately due to the typhoon and Habagat that happened last week, the premiere which should happened last August 20 moved to August 23. It was two days late after the first screening on cinemas.

The premiere was held at Power Plant Mall (first time to visit the place!) at exactly eight in the evening. It was still raining outside yet Gift Certificates were also pouring inside the movie house. It was in 3D and the shades were awesome!

Image

Thank you Milo PH for the free movie tickets!

Before the postponed premiere night, I read some reviews regarding the movie. Most were poor and negative reviews yet it did not halt my excitement.

After watching the film, I listed below why the movie is a hit or a miss.

 HIT! *RYAN REYNOLDS is a hot DETECTIVE!!!*

Image

Why so handsome? Photo from http://www.youtube.com

I’m definitely hands down with this! I can’t imagine any other actor taking the position of Detective Nick Walker! Thumbs up!

MISS! *JEFF BRIDGES is like EATING HIS LINES!*

Image

Cowboy! – Photo from amfmstudiosnews.com

I was trying to decipher all the lines of Jeff Bridges but I didn’t understand most of his words. He is a great actor though and a perfect after life police officer partner (he played Roy Pulsipher, an ex-US Marshal who lived in the 1800s).

HIT! *KEVIN BACON as always the PERFECT ANTAGONIST.*

Image

Scary! -Photo from latestnewspics.blogspot.com

Bow to this guy! My eyes were glued to him because of his performance! Bobby Hayes really had a dark side and Kevin Bacon gave justice to it! Good job!

HIT! *MARY LOUISE PARKER, the CONVINCING DIRECTOR Afterlife police department!*

Image

I adore you Director Proctor! – Photo from whatculture.com

 

If all ‘after life director’ is like Mildred Proctor, I want to be one! I loved Mary Louise Parker’s portrayal of the character (Spoiler!) and how she bit Jeff Bridges’ Billy goat moustache! So sweet!

MISS! *Love story is an EPIC FAIL!*

Image

Even a picture can attest to it! The only photo of Julia and Nick Walker- thank you to http://www.zimbio.com

I’m not against Stephanie Szostak, the actress who played Julia Walker, Ryan Reynold’s love interest. She’s beautiful and her acting was okay yet there was no chemistry between them.

HIT! *DEADOS come your way.*

Image

Watch out for him! – Photo from fwooshflix.com

Image

First assignment! -Photo from http://www.beastsofwar.com

Image

This one is really scary! – Photo from http://www.4moviefreaks.com

RIPD introduced new monsters that definitely gruesome. Deados are the one that Nick and Roy needed to find. Deados are spirits that failed to cross over and return to earth as monstrous ghost. (Thank you Wikipedia for the information!) How will you know if a human being is a deado? You simply need a milk powder to figure it out!

MISS! *Another MEN IN BLACK theme.*

Image

Men in Black? – Photo from latestnewspics.blogspot.com

Admittedly, when I saw a trailer I immediately thought of this is another Men in Black inspired film, new version of two police officers who are saving the world against monsters. Perhaps it’s true yet I still think you’d better see it.

HIT! *AFTER LIFE looks!*

Image

You are under arrest! – Photo from http://www.tvsource.in

If this is how I look when I returned to earth, wow I want to die now! Seriously, every time Roy became this sexy woman and Nick as this old Chinese guy, the audiences were laughing. I loved the concept!

MISS! *NO GLITZ for the ALL STAR CAST.*

Image

Oh lala! – Photo from thefilmstage.com

Another movie that showcased powerhouse actors yet it failed to bring audience in. I just found out that most of the actors are award winning and it so sad that they did not even put this film in the box office list.

 

The result: 5 Hits and 4 Misses

I did not include my view about the story because I found it amusing yet a bit confused for some parts. I still recommend Rest in Peace Department for its humor and funny scenes. I hope you can watch it because it is still out in your favorite cinema houses.

Perksbewithyou rating: 8/10

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

