Celebrating the 115th Independence Day of the Philippines was truly remarkable and memorable because of the one and only ‘Fiesto Bandido’.

Image

Photo from opm.org.ph

I was blessed when I won tickets for Rico Blanco’s first major solo concert. I was so thrilled. It will be my first time to watch a concert by an OPM artist.Yay!

Image
My cousin and I were early at the venue. We were able to see the long line of concert goers on the stairs. 30 minutes before the show started, we entered the Music Museum. It was our first time at the place and we were both excited with the concert. As we entered the door, we gave our tickets at the usherette and she led us with our chairs. I loved my spot because it was on the aisle and the stage was not too far from it.

Image
The opening act for concert entitled: Rico Blanco: Live!, was Taken By Cars. The indie rock band which I’ve seen last 2011 still kept my head banged with their melodic song like This is our City and Unidentified. It was great seeing them and I hope they will release a new album this year.

Powerful drumbeats introduced the show. The crowds cheered when Rico Blanco went out in a very galactic tribal costume and make-up.

Image

He sang his first single “Amats” from his second album “Galactik Fiestamatik” and the spectral song was a perfect start for the astonishing show. And it then followed by the frolicking ‘Burado’. I had a feeling then that it would be a long and exciting night.

Image

When Rico Blanco sat down in front of an organ and started playing the keys, it was the beginning of the ‘acoustic’ part of the concert.

Image

Loud applauded fill the concert hall as Miss Kitchie Nadal walked on the left side of the stage.

Image

The beautiful Miss Kitchie Nadal!

The two artists serenaded us with the all-time favorite Rivermaya’s song, ‘214’.

Image

Rico Blanco then sang back to back singles from his albums and Rivermaya hits. He started with Lipat Bahay, Balisong, You’ll Be Safe Here, Hours and Days, Tayo’y Mga Pinoy and Panahon na Naman. He kept the great music coming with Kisapmata, Awit ng Kabataan, Elisi, Umaaraw, Umuulan and Hinahanap-hanap Kita that brought back the audience from memories of the 90’s.

Hefty drumbeats and spectacular lights heightened the momentum of Fiesto Bandido’s unstoppable all-out performance.

Image

I love the lights! 🙂

Image

I was glad when Rico Blanco sang Antukin and What Is It? I quickly wanted to stand up and danced like crazy.

Image

The commando in dance! Nice moves!

Image

Let’s continue the rocking! Yeah!

Good thing, he made us to jumped off our feet with ‘Yugto’, sing our heart out with ‘Posible’ and moved our bodies with ‘Sayaw’ on which Ira Cruz’s played the guitar smashingly.

Image

Irac Cruz’s strumming made my heart beat tumultuously ! Well done!

Everybody joined Rico Blaco when he sang the compelling ‘Your Universe’. Even the great show needed to end and his finale song was ‘Ngayon’. The superb performer left us wanting more.

Image

Love this shot and the lights!

Rico Blanco’s outstanding concert posed that even a one man could perform excellently and sold out tickets. He was very energetic through out the show and his whimsical spiel spawned us to laugh, enjoy and just relax. Watching Rico Blanco made me realized that deep inside, I was a Rivermaya’s fan. I knew the melody and lyrics of the songs even before he sang it and I still hummed it even after the concert. I am looking forward for a part two of the concert. Hopefully it will be in a much bigger venue where more people can watch and be amazed with Rico Blanco’s exceptional talent.

Image

From the ceiling of the comfort room in Music Museum.

