I’ve been hearing of Les Miserables since college. It was my theater professor’s favorite play. She informed us that it was one of the most spectacular musical plays. The characters and songs are loved by the theater enthusiasts because one could easily relate to it. I got curious about it back then that I promised myself that if it would be shown on-screen, I would watch it, no matter the cost.

True enough, the play hits the big screen! What a great way to start the year! 🙂

I should not miss it! Those were the exact words I told myself when I almost lost hope in getting premiere tickets to the movie. On the last day that Monster Radio RX 93.1 gave out free Gala Night tickets at Newport Cinema Mall in Resorts World Manila, I won two and it was like killing two birds with one stone. It would be my first Resorts World visit.

Image

Definitely a dream come true!

The Gala Night took place January 9 and we were required to wear formal attire. Before the screen showing, local singers- Christian Bautista, Audie Gemora and Karylle performed songs from Les Miserables. These were incredible performances. I was star-struck with all the celebrities whom I saw and who passed by the chair where I was seated. The Gala was a night of glitz and glamour because of elegant dresses, shiny accessories and cameras all over the place.

Unfortunately, the premiere did not happen that night due to technical problems and the staff let us wait for TWO HOURS before announcing so. Looks of disappointment were all over the cinema house. My first Gala Night was, for a lack of better word, miserable.

Of course, the movie definitely was not, as I will later on talk about.

So to compensate for the failed movie screening, Newport Cinema decided to exchange the Gala Night tickets for Cinema 3 regular movie ticket which was worth 300. We can only use the tickets from January 15 to January 23. I immediately asked for the details of the ticket redemption and luckily I was able to catch the movie just this Sunday.

Accompanied by a good friend, we rushed to the movie house, which was almost full. Fortunately, there were four vacant seats left. And though my friend and I would be rows and columns apart (the four seats were away from each other!), we quickly grabbed the seats instead of waiting for two hours and 40 minutes for the next showing.

Here are some comments on the movie. To those who have not watched it yet, don’t worry I am not giving spoilers here. Rather I will just list down the strengths and flaws of the movie.

 

STRENGTHS:

Hugh Jackman– You are probably aware that Wolverine from the movie X-men was portrayed by no other than this dashing actor. We are used to seeing Hugh always in action, but probably not in tears.  And in Les Miserables he burst into tears, and I believe it was a first. From the beginning till the end, I saw only Hugh Jackman portraying the kind-hearted Jean Valjean. He deserved the Best Actor award from the Golden Globes.

Anne Hathaway– Yes it’s true, she could sing, and she did great playing Fantine. No doubt, Anne Hathaway can make everyone laugh and cry and her own rendition of “I Dreamed a Dream” was amazing. That scene was just perfect that all I could do was stare at Fantine. I give her a round of applause for winning Best Supporting Actress and also cutting her hair short, which made her even prettier.

Russell Crowe– The ‘Gladiator’ turned singer. Every time Javert came out of the scene, it really scared me. What was he going to do? Would he find Jean Valjean already? His struggle at the end within himself was epic.

Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen– I hated Helena for being the mean Bellatrix Lestrange in Harry Potter Series but for being the crazy Madame Thernadier, I could not help but like her. The Thenardiers were the best characters for me. They were so comical that even the dullest moment would make me laugh. Without them the movie would be quite boring. I just so loved Helena and Sacha!

Amanda Seyfried and Eddie Redmayne– I thought Cosette and Marius’ love story would end up like that of Romeo and Juliet. Good thing it didn’t. I liked Eddie Redmayne because his acting as Marius was convincing. Meanwhile, I did like Amanda Seyfried yet I did not feel her acting as Cossette. Eddie and Amanda’s chemistry was sizzling hot though.

Samantha Barks– I was expecting her character to be one of the villains but Eponine made me cry instead. Her singing “On my Own” deeply touched my heart and the pouring of the rain in the background made me weep even more. Good thing I had tissues with me and lots of them.

The kids: Daniel Huttlestone as Gavroche and Isabelle Allen as Young Cosette- I have to give credit to these two youngsters whose acting I found superb and who made the movie more relevant for the younger viewers of Les Miserables.

“Do You Hear the People Sing”– This song would probably be your last song syndrome. The scene when this was sung was kept playing on my mind even hours after I finished watching the movie. Or probably even up to now!

 

FLAWS:

Singing instead of throwing the lines– I could not understand some of the lines they chanted. Moreover, not all of them had a great voice.

The ending- I expected to witness a more striking finale. Some of the previous scenes made me burst into tears and I thought the finale would top them all.

 

The film was worth the watch and that you better not miss it. As I hinted, just come armed with rolls of tissue. I definitely learned a lot from and enjoyed this movie. I hope you will as well.

 

Feel free to leave some comments! 🙂

